The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually for outstanding contributions to American journalism, letters, and music. Since 1919, Pulitzer Prizes have been awarded numerous times to Harvard faculty members — and some professors have won multiple times.

RecipientYear prize awardedCategory
Matthew Desmond 2017 Nonfiction
Stephen Greenblatt 2012 Nonfiction
Annette Gordon-Reed* 2009 History
Caroline Elkins 2006 Nonfiction
Geraldine Brooks 2006 Fiction
Samantha Power 2003 Nonfiction
Louis Menand* 2002 History
Jorie Graham* 1996 Poetry
Bert Hölldobler 1991 Nonfiction
Edward O. Wilson 1991 Nonfiction
Laurel Thatcher Ulrich* 1991 History
David Donald 1988 Biography
Bernard Bailyn 1987 History
Thomas K. McCraw 1985 History
Bernard Rands* 1984 Music
Paul E. Starr 1984 Nonfiction
Edward O. Wilson 1979 Nonfiction
Walter Jackson Bate 1978 Biography
Alfred Chandler Jr. 1978 History
John E. Mack 1977 Biography
Donald Martino* 1974 Music
Robert Coles 1973 Nonfiction
Mario Davidosky* 1971 Music
Bernard Bailyn 1968 History
George F. Kennan 1968 Biography
Leon Kirchner 1967 Music
Bernard Malamud 1967 Fiction
Perry Miller*** 1966 History
Howard Mumford Jones 1965 Nonfiction
Walter Jackson Bate 1964 Biography
David Donald* 1961 Biography
Walter Piston 1961 Music
Samuel Eliot Morison** 1960 Biography
Archibald MacLeish 1959 Drama
Archibald MacLeish 1953 Poetry
Oscar Handlin 1952 History
Walter Piston 1948 Music
Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. 1946 History
Robert Frost 1943 Poetry
Samuel Eliot Morison 1943 Biography
Paul Herman Buck 1938 History
Ralph Barton Perry 1936 Biography
Robert Hillyer 1934 Poetry
Archibald MacLeish* 1933 Poetry
Frederick J. Turner 1933 History
Edward Channing 1926 History
Harvey Cushing 1926 Biography
Mark A. DeWolfe Howe 1925 Biography
Charles McIlwain 1924 History
Henry Adams 1919 Biography

* Prize awarded before appointment to the faculty.
**Prize awarded after retirement from the faculty.
***Prize awarded posthumously.